The 18th Annual SoDak Cup was played this weekend, the 28th and 29th of September, at Arrowhead Country Club in Rapid City. The Amatuers retained the cup once again in 2013, winning for the third consecutive year – this time in record setting fashion. After getting out to a quick 5-0 lead on Saturday morning, the Ams followed up by taking three of the five points in the afternoon, giving them a comfortable 8-2 lead heading into Sunday’s singles matches. Needing only two points to retain the cup, the Amateurs took seven to clinch the cup by a final tally 15-5 over the Professionals. The fifteen points marks the highest point total recorded in the history of the SoDak Cup, which began in 1996.

The Amateur SoDak team included: Tad Leistico, Ross Menke, Charlie Jacobson, Jeff Meyerink, Matt Johnson, Levi Smith, Michael Keeton, Brandon Sigmund, Jeff Salter, Mike Brummer, and captain Merv Bouchie.

The Professional SoDak team included: Jason Young, Dean Zahn, Danny Sinksen, Joe Benedict, Dustin Lecy, John Goettsch, Matt Kimball, Ryan Messick, Aaron Roeber, Loudan Steffes, and captain Coralee Jorgensen.

Since the team competition began in 1996, the Amateurs have won the SoDak Cup 13 times. The last Professional win came in 2010 at Sutton Bay.


Levi Smith